Cool stuff in Beijing

OK, Beijing is a GIANT city (more of its own state really..) But, each year we go to a tradeshow there for the hobby. (http://www.cmexpo.com.cn/index_e.asp)And, so I thought it would be fun to share a fun place or event from this great city! Most likely I’ll post stuff over time from the other cities I visit too. This job has me traveling a lot and frankly, it’s pretty fun!

OK, so my tip for today is about a really cool little restaurant. (OK, little makes it bigger than just about any restaurant in the USA, but small to medium sized by Chinese standards…)

It’s called:

Mansion Restaurant (Always such original names when translated to English!)

Tel: 88356687

http://www.bjdazhaimen.com

The restaurant has great food from Chinese food Westerners will like to real Chinese delicacies only the most experience Chinese palate can appreciate.

The COOL part about it is the live show that goes on while you eat. Contortionists, Martial Arts Demo’s, Traditional Chinese Music, Dance, Beijing Opera samplings, and more are all part of the act. And you don’t have to speak a word of Chinese to enjoy the entertainment.

We eat there at least once everytime we attend the show. It’s fun, exciting, the food is good, the service is good, and the show is great. Westerners, don’t be intimidated. You will be able to order without problem and on most nights, there’s at least one English speaker on the floor.

I love traveling to China (I’ve been doing so since 1998) and this restaurant is one of my all-time favorites!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Cool stuff in Beijing”

  1. Cat Says:

    Hey Mike, I stumbled on your blog. I’m extending my stay in Beijing – where else could I go that’s not so touristy but a nice must-see place? 🙂

  2. mikegoesflying Says:

    I’ve mostly done all the touristy things. Temple of heaven, Forbidden City, Great Wall, Summer Palace, etc… The Beijing University of Aviation and Aeronautics (BUAA) has a rather small and odd little collection of airplanes in a little make-shift air-museum. The cool part is, while crappy and run down, the planes are VERY unusual. So, if you’re a aviation nut, you might find that interesting. Also, near to that restaurant I mentioned is a City Zoo. I have never been there before. But, the interesting thing is that it is always busy when I walk by (on the way to the show I attend there each year). And it seems to be locals going there rather than only international tourists.

    I wish I could be more informative but it seems I hardly see daylight when I’m there because I’m usually there on business.

    Let me know if you find anything interesting during your stay.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

