Toledo

Just got back. My coverage of the Toledo show is NOT very good. Why? I NEVER LEFT the BOOTH!!! We were so swamped at the Airtronics and Global booth that there simply was NO TIME to walk the show!

So, what was new in our neck of the woods?

1. RDS8000. EVERYONE wanted to see it it seems. And since our dealer there, Peak Electronics, sold out, I guess that means they wanted it too.

2. We selectively showed the prototype of the new Airtronics 10 channel. Due probably Jan 2009 (well before the next Toledo show), we had a transmitter there getting feedback on ergonomics and features. I can’t show it because it will be heavily modified from its current prototype state before release.

While we did this, Sanwa also flew in the radio programmer and he interviewed top glider, helicopter, and aerobatic pilots to get their views on the programming needs of pilots who will use this new radio. YES, we’re putting YOU and our Engineers TOGETHER to make sure we’re making stuff you actually want! I can tell them but it is sure more powerful if we have them talk to the pilots directly.Miss Ohio at the Airtronics Booth

3. New Digital Airtronics Servos. (and for you dealers, they’re in better packaging too). These are high performance standard case size servos. UP to 200 oz/in is in and we’re about to go into production on the 350 oz/in variety.

4. Global is now the exclusive agent for Ultrafly Models. I’ll have pics of the new plane and information soon (about a week probably). But they’re great looking and great quality and I think they’ll be well-received.

It was a fantastic show!

Oh, and THANKS to everyone who came to my 2.4GHz symposium! I was really nervous about it but everyone was very nice and the questions were all outstanding! There sure were a lot of people there!

More soon!

Mike

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Toledo”

  1. kenneth o'rell Says:

    hi mike.

    toledo was indeed a great show .your airtronics booth was the first place i headed.i enjoyed our talk and answers to my questions about the rds8000.i have owned airtronics radios since 80s.i’ve had the quasars;radient and have been using the rd6000 for about 7 yrs.its now time to update I also was shown your 10channel which will be released next year.very exciting news..keep up your great work

    ken

  2. DALE DREW Says:

    SORRY I MISSED THE TOLEDO SHOW. MY WIFE TOOK ME SOUTH TO FLA. I WAS PLANNING ON BEING AT TOLEDO FOR THE PURPOSE OF TALKING 2.4GHZ. I HAVE FLOWN AIRTONICS SINCE AMA CHANGED THE FREQ’S IN THE 80’S, WHEN AIRTONICS WAS THE FIRST TO MEET AMA SPECS FOR THE NEW FREQUENCYS . I STILL HAVE AND FLY THE SPECTRA SYSTEMS AND OWN ALL THE OTHERS IN BETWEEN. I DID RECENTLY GET THE NEW RDS8000. HAVEN’T HAD IT IN THE AIR YET.(CRUMMY WEATHER) I DO EXPECT IT TO PERFORM AS GREAT AS ALL YOUR OTHER SYSTEMS. IN ALL THOSE YEARS, I HAVE ONLY HAD 1 SERVO GO BAD-OTHER THAN USUAL BATTERY REPLACEMENT. LOVE YOU FOREVER. (AIRTONICS, THAT IS.)

  3. mikegoesflying Says:

    Ken, I’m glad you could stop by. That 10 channel is going to go through a lot of detail work to get it “just right”! We are VERY excited about the radio and we think we are going about it the “right way” by getting our best pilots as well as our customers involved with development. No product can be all things to all people, but we’re going to do the best we can to make it as good as possible!

    Dale, glad you love Airtronics. Frankly, I’m a convert. I flew Futaba and Hitec for years. Both had served me well. Switching to Airtronics was a little odd at first, but the feel of the radio won me over (that and our in-house technician is brilliant, thus I know service will always be proper…) Our R&D pilot here, Russ Greaves, always flew with Airtronics too and was always a little bitter when I used to have him fly my old planes with my “other brand” radio.. He’s a LOT happier now…

    Thanks to you both for posting here too! It’s great to hear from Airtronics pilots!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

